Great expectations….

Neo: What are you trying to tell me? That I can dodge bullets? Morpheus: No, Neo. I'm trying to tell you that when you're ready, you won't have to.

“People are not a product of their environments but rather their expectations.”

A good friend of mine had this quote posted on his facebook status the other day. I thought it was an excellent statement because it is conventional for people to say “[we] are a product of our environments”. But just as the quote reads, that assertion is incorrect. I believe it’s actually closer to a cop-out. Don’t get me wrong, one’s environment can certainly play a significant factor. However, to fully subscribe to the thought that we are simply a product of our environment would completely absolve us of any type of responsibility that we have to dictate the outcomes of our lives. We all have the gift to manufacture our own reality. The fundamental philosophy that makes that possible is rooted in the expectations one has. Life begins and ends purely on expectations.

It is for this reason, that I am now going through my final preparations for June 1st. This includes mapping out all of my training plans. On June 1st,  I will have exactly 5 months until the Ironman 70.3 race.  During the period between June 1-October 30, my preparation, training, and intensity levels will kick into a higher gear. All of the activities that I partake in: from what I eat to how I train and rest, will be specifically tailored towards accomplishing my objective of completing the race. I understand that every individual decision I make can either take me closer or further away from accomplishing my goal. Thus, I will be thoughtful and certainly disciplined to ensure that I am only making conscious decisions that will move me closer to my mission. The completion of the race is not merely a goal. It is a mission, based upon my expectation.

I’ve already decided how this is going to end. And so the rest is just details. In my mind, I have already crossed the finished line. I just need to go through the necessary formalities.

“The story of the human race is the story of men and women selling themselves short.”

– Abraham Maslow

~ by gblyden703 on May 21, 2010.

2 Responses to “Great expectations….”

  1. Begin with the end in mind. Lets go! This time tomorrow I will officially break the triathlete cherry, then on to Iron Man!!!!

  2. “Begin with Ralph Waldo Emerson’s essay on Compensation. Then select some of the other books on self-suggestion and inform yourself about the principle through which your beliefs of today become the realities of tomorrow….Nothing ever just happens. In a single month of properly directed self-suggestion you may place your foot upon the neck of [the] basic fears. In twelve months of persistent effort you may drive the entire herd into the corner where it will never again do you any serious injury….”

    – Napoleon Hill

    Gersh, I am just preaching to the choir.

    Thank you for helping me to really want to take this medicine.

Leave a Reply

 
